Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism



After a 5-year break since „Apex Predator – Easy Meat“, studio album number sixteen by the British grindcore band NAPALM DEATH followed in 2020 with „Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism“. And it was definitely worth the wait!


As always, there is aggressive, fat NAPALM DEATH grindcore. But with a good portion of experimentation and the resulting variety. Especially songs like „Joie De Ne Pas Vivre“ and „Amoral“ are a good examples for this. „A Bellyful Of Salt And Spleen“ even manages without any guitars at all. But don’t worry, there is no lack of mercilessly brutal deathgrind attacks! And if you take it very seriously, you have to admit that the „grindcore“ pigeonhole has long since become too small for NAPALM DEATH. 
Nevertheless, NAPALM DEATH prove with „Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism“ once again why they belong to the grindcore spearhead! An incredibly brutal, very well produced album with few but catchy melodies and a lot of variety. 


  • 12″ Picture Disc LP
  • Gatefold cover
  • incl. all lyrics


Side A:
A1 – Fuck the Factoid
A2 – Backlash Just Because
A3 – That Curse of Being in Thrall
A4 – Contagion
A5 – Joie De Ne Pas Vivre
A6 – Invigorating Clutch
A7 – Zero Gravitas Chamber

Side B:
B1 – Fluxing of the Muscle
B2 – Amoral
B3 – Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism
B4 – Acting in Gouged Faith
B5 – Air’s Turned Foul in Here
B6 – A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen


12″ Picture LP

  • cat.-no: AR123
  • edition: 1000 copies
  • EAN: 4260070631238
  • release date: 21/04/2023
Want a copy?