fiendish regression


A fierce testimony to Graves' dedication to the raw old-school death metal brutality

Grave, the Swedish death metal titans, unleashed „Fiendish Regression“ upon the metal community in 2004. This album stands as a fierce testament to the band’s unwavering dedication to the raw, unrelenting brutality that defines their signature sound.


Right from the onset, „Fiendish Regression“ plunges listeners into a vortex of aggressive riffage, thunderous drumming, and guttural vocals, reaffirming Grave’s position as stalwarts of the death metal genre. Tracks like „Awakening“ or „Bloodfeast “ exemplify the band’s trademark style, characterized by unapologetically heavy rhythms and a relentless sonic assault that persists throughout the album.

What distinguishes „Fiendish Regression“ is Grave’s ability to infuse subtle variations into their established sound. While staying true to their roots, the band incorporates minor nuances that add depth and dimension to their sonic landscape. The album’s production is top-notch, allowing each instrument to carve its space within the dense layers of sound while preserving the raw, visceral essence that defines classic death metal.

Lyrically, „Fiendish Regression“ explores themes intrinsic to the genre – mortality, darkness, and existential contemplation. Grave’s lyrical content complements the sonic intensity, adding a layer of introspection that delves into the darker recesses of human existence.

Throughout „Fiendish Regression,“ Grave displays a remarkable cohesion and tightness in their instrumentation, showcasing their mastery over the brutal and relentless nature of death metal. The band’s experience and proficiency shine through each track, creating a cohesive sonic journey that captivates from start to finish.

In summary, „Fiendish Regression“ stands as a testament to Grave’s consistency in delivering uncompromising death metal. It’s an album that pays homage to the genre’s roots while demonstrating Grave’s evolution as musicians. Fans of Grave and enthusiasts of unadulterated death metal will find „Fiendish Regression“ a compelling addition to their collection—a sonic testament to the band’s unyielding commitment to delivering intense, unrelenting metal.

With „Fiendish Regression,“ Grave cements their place as pioneers in the realm of death metal, delivering an album that’s unapologetically heavy, dark, and undeniably powerful – a definitive example of the band’s mastery in crafting aggressive, relentless music.


  • cassette tape
  • 2 bonus tracks
  • limited to 300 pieces


Side A:
1 – Last Journey 5:03
2 – Reborn 3:45
3 – Awakening 4:28
4 – Breeder 4:09
5 – Trial By Fire 3:47
6 – Out Of The Light 4:05

Side B:
1 – Inner Voice 4:07
2 – Bloodfeast 4:15
3 – Heretic 5:02

Bonus Tracks:
4 – Burial At Sea 7:40
5 – Autopsied 4:03


Cassette Tape

  • cat.-no: AR130
  • edition: 300 copies
  • EAN: 4260070631306
  • release date: 10/12/2023
Want a copy?